Paper Taxidermy- Lynx Painting

Once the the fur layer dried, which usually takes a few days for it to dry completely (and if you do anything before it does, trust me, it goes moldy), I covered it with a layer of a mix between joint compound and PVA glue, which I believe is referred to as gesso. This is to get any cracks that might have popped up, spots I might have missed and generally to make it stronger and easier to paint. It also makes for a good layer to sand down for smoothness, if you need to do that. Once dried, I painted both the dog and the lynx in a orange/red color all over. The dog then went through stags of blue, brown and black before it was done. The lynx was a bit more complicated to paint, and this is where I started going back to my reference photos to make sure I didn’t get too lost on the way. When it came to paint the eyes of both the dog and the lynx I ran into a funny dilemma. Painted, they looked very cartoon like, and not to my liking. I’m not a painter, hence my skills of painting aren’t all that fab, and I really didn’t like the look of it. So  I decided, after painting them grey-white again, to just shade them from black to white and leave them looking like zombies, something I think works really well. Once I painted the lynx I attached lashes, whiskers and ear hairs (one of their significant features) before finishing the backing and the hanging device. The lynx is now only a few steps away from being done. All that is left is paint a few spots that were made when attaching the whiskers, attach the rest of the hair inside one of the ears and then varnish it. (This is still to be done.)

A lot of my paper mache techniques have been developed thanks to a lady called Jonni, who runs this wonderful website: http://ultimatepapermache.com/  and also a Yahoo group I am a member of: PapermacheArt. These resources have been invaluable to all my recent projects.

Once the lynx is done, I’ll shoot him properly and post some shots.

About Dida

Visual artist, light painter and mother.
Gallery | This entry was posted in MakeArt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

