Testing props

Because my abilities to do any big shoots are rather diminished due to my increasingly large baby bump, I’ve been focusing on making props and testing  them lately. I tested the first finished troll head the other night, looking at how lighting him from different angles brings out different sides to his personality. This will help me plan my lighting for the actual shoot when the time comes.

My first final paper mache troll head - working with light from various angles, exposures etc.

Here’s a test I did of some of the props for another image. I only shot a selection of these as are there are a lot of them. (A small battalion of zombie chicken heads amongst other things.) Doing these test shoots helps me figure out and eliminate potential problems that might occur during the larger shoot in regards to how the materials respond to light, how the paint is working etc. It’s also really helpful in mapping out the set up.

Small selection of props made for an image under the working title "Gullible Travels"

I didn’t make this little guy (obviously), but he’s another one of my models waiting to be put into a shot based around ideas of the pre-christian norse soul, the hug (not like the english word hug, but meaning soul) and the embodiment of the soul in a ham (very much not like the english word ham, but as in a body or form.)

Mummified cat found under my friend Will's house, kindly donated to art.

I think he’s beautiful on his own, however I’m not sure he would make much sense without a larger context in my new body of work. Then again the question is; does he really have to?

Oh, how I do love dead things.

About Dida

Visual artist, light painter and mother.
This entry was posted in Light Painting, MakeArt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

